PASUC Holds Midterm Convention, Celebrates 55th Foundation

PASAY City -- The Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) held its three-day Midterm Convention at the SMX Convention Center, from July 27 to 29, 2022.

The event was attended by more than 500 participants representing various state universities and colleges (SUCs) all over the country. Celebrated annually, this 2022 Midterm Convention bore the theme “SUCs as Innovation Leader for Global Competitiveness.”

Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo, President of PASUC and Batangas State University, elaborated in his welcome message, “We need to strengthen the programs and activities of SUCs through innovation, knowledge creation, multi-level partnerships, and future thinking,” on the theme of the convention.

Hon. Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva, Senate Majority Leader, delivered the keynote address emphasizing the lineup of priority bills for the year 2022 that would highly benefit the SUCs. Hon. Pia S. Cayetano delivered a pre-recorded inspirational message on the role of SUCs in educating the youth now and in the future. Hon. Villanueva and Hon. Cayetano are Philippine Senators of the 19th Congress.

PASUC also launched the Compendium on SUC Research and Extension Works entitled “Innovating as We Heal as One”. This is a collection of reports on strategies from different SUCs reflecting the responses each has done in the face of the pandemic. The compendium captured the stories behind such initiatives, the learnings and insights gained, and how their experiences bear on the future initiatives in research and extension works of SUCs.

Organized in 1967, PASUC marks this year’s Convention jointly with its 55th Founding Anniversary Celebration. To commemorate PASUC@55, plaques were awarded to the 71 Past Presidents of SUCs whose terms ended from 2017-2022. They were recognized as Honorees for their enormous contributions and outstanding service at their respective SUCs, and for exemplifying PASUC’s pursuit of quality, excellence, relevance, and inclusiveness in higher education.

The President’s Report was also presented and it highlighted the following: the steady and consistent increase in the SUCs annual budget; the immediate implementation of NBC No. 461 Cycle 8; the welfare and benefits of the non-teaching personnel; the representations of PASUC in various meetings, consultations, and committee hearings; the impacts made in partnerships and collaborations through virtual conferences and fora; and, the COVID-19 initiatives.

The PASUC 3rd Executive Board Meeting for FY 2022 was also held and a new set of PASUC National and Regional Officers for the Term 2022-2024 were elected. Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo was unopposed and re-elected as PASUC President, likewise, for Dr. Edgardo E. Tulin, VSU President, was re-elected as PASUC Vice-President for Visayas and Dr. Nelson P. Cabral, ZPPSU President, was re-elected as PASUC Vice-President for Mindanao. Joining as PASUC National Officers are Dr. Marwin M. Dela Cruz, PHILSCA President, elected as PASUC Vice-President for NCR, Dr. Shirley C. Agrupis, MMSU President, elected as PASUC Vice-President for Luzon and Dr. Eduardo T. Bagtang, KSU President, elected as PASUC Auditor.

The 2022 PASUC Midterm Convention delivered plenary talks from Dr. Dan Lachica, President of the Semiconductor and Electronics Industries in the Philippines Foundation, Inc. (SEIPI), Ms. Lotus Postrado, the first Filipina Country Director of the British Council in the Philippines, Mr. Dominique Vanhoutte, the “Smart Urban Communities” Lead at Siemens Smart Infrastructure Switzerland and Mr. Gerald R. Janda, Director of the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) Organization, Position Classification and Compensation Bureau (OPCCB).

Further, there were two engaging panel sessions featured. The discussion on The Imperatives of Continuous Quality Improvement in the Higher Education Accreditation, was moderated by Dr. Myrna Q. Mallari, Former President of Tarlac State University and Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACCUP), Inc. It was paneled by Dr. Lilian G. Salonga, Director for DTI Competitiveness Bureau, Dr. Milabel E. Ho, Executive Director of AACCUP Inc., and Dr. Tirso A. Ronquillo, PASUC President. The session on Raising Capital and Investments for Start-Ups and University Spin-offs was moderated by Dr. Napoleon Juanillo Jr., Founder of the Institutes for Research, Innovation and Scholarship (The IRIS). It was paneled by Dr. Carlos Primo C. David, Professor of UP Diliman and Partner for Morningtide Capital, Dr. Gonzalo C. Serafica, Co-Founder of Xylos Corporation, Mr. Jose Avelino Flores, Co-founder of Plug and Play, Mr. James Pacaba, Ventures Managing Partner at Morningtide, and Engr. Albertson D. Amante, Vice President for Research, Development and Extension at Batangas State University.